LIQUID LIPSTICKS: Faves and Hates 

Liquid lipsticks have been hyped about for quite some time now. With a lot of brands jumping on the hype and making their versions of the perfect liquid lip, this has given me the time to try a lot of the different brands, formulas and colours, to see which are the absolute worst and best on the market.

I’m going to give you a run down of what I’ve found to be the worst liquid lips I’ve tried and which I have found to be holy grail status!

img_3388-1

Left to right (worst to best) NYX Lip Lingerie in ‘Satin Ribbon’, Sleek Matte Me in ‘Vinto Tinto’, Primark Kiss Proof Matte Liquid Lipstick in ‘Pink in Excess’, Sephora Cream Lip Stain in ‘Infinite Rose’, Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit in ‘Go To Nude’, Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick in ‘Celebrity Skin’.

18120319_1521115497930346_1819570391_o

Arm swatches – Top to Bottom (worst to best)

 

First off, lets start with the worst, NYX Lip Lingerie.

 

When I initially saw these launch, I was beyond excited. At £6.50 a piece and a massive range of nude shades, I thought I was in for a bargain… oh how wrong I was. This colour is beautiful, but more so than the others in the collection that I’ve tried, it is completely streaky upon first application.

 

The product is very thick and moussey, so when you try to finesse the product or add a second layer – it becomes very cakey and bunches up, which accentuates every line on your lips.

What is even worse about this product is that because it is so cakey on the lips, it’s near impossible to get off. It’s got staying power, I give it that, but why would I want chapped looking lips to stay for a long time? No thank you. I have to scrub at it for at least 5 minutes before I’m even close to having it fully off and even then I’m left with bunched up product left clinging to my mouth.

I love NYX products, but this one was just a complete fail for me.

 

Next up is my other fail liquid lipstick, Sleek Matte Me.

18111336_1521115494597013_580304958_o

Sleek Matte Me in Vinto Tinto

I absolutely love Sleek makeup products, so when I saw people across YouTube raving about these liquid lipsticks for only £5, I had to pick them up.

This colour and formula is very patchy and drying on the lips. Any movement of your mouth makes the lipstick crack and flake (which doesn’t make for a very pleasant experience when eating, who wants flaky bits of lipstick in their mouth and food? No thanks).

Upon application, it goes on extremely streaky, patchy and no-where near opaque. Even on a second layer, the product you apply on top removes the colour underneath, making some darker patches and some parts with product barely left there. This one again, has some unbelievable staying power, not even my oil based removers can fully remove it. However, it’s not worth it for how dry and flaky the actual product is.

Sorry Sleek, it’s a no from me.

 

Now, onto my absolute favourites!

To start off, let’s talk about Primark Kiss Proof Matte Liquid Lipsticks.

18110904_1521115534597009_28801427_o

Primark Kiss Proof Matte Liquid Lipstick in Pink in Excess

Primark has definitely stepped it up with their makeup game in the last year and upon their release of their PS Pro range with these liquid lips for £3, I had to pick some up.

At the moment, there aren’t a whole lot of shades to choose from, but this one really caught my eye. It’s a very unique cool-toned grey-purple colour that I’ve never really seen before.

The formula is very smooth and pigmented upon first application and only needs one layer for full opacity. It doesn’t feel drying on the lips at all and stays for a good 5+ hours (without eating) before it starts to fade. When you do eat, it does fade a little on the inner rim of the mouth, but not a lot of damage is done and when reapplied, there’s no caking up on bunching, it reapplies just fine on top of itself.

Props to Primark on this one, absolute love!

 

Next up is the Sephora Cream Lip Stains.

18119788_1521159094592653_1928278315_o

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Infinite Rose

I got this as a present from America, which makes me pretty sad that it’s so good as we don’t have Sephora over here in England.

This colour is one of the satin finishes in the collection, which is absolutely stunning. It’s a natural pinky rose colour with a golden peach undertone, which is perfect for everyday wear.

This formula is one of the smoothest I’ve ever tried in terms of how it applies on first application. When it dries, it almost feels like there’s nothing on the lips as it’s so lightweight, which is a massive factor I look for when it comes to trying liquid lipsticks.

This lipstick lasts for at least 6 hours before it starts to fade and even then, it still looks good and even better… it lasts through eating! Well worth the $14.

Well done Sephora, I can’t wait to try more of these!

 

Next up we have the new Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kits.

18109432_1521115537930342_1658839174_n

Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit in Go To Nude

 

As a lover of brown-toned nudes, this colour is just perfect for me. As is the formula.

This liquid lipstick is a little different as it comes as part of the lip kits that Barry M sold as part of their limited edition lip kits for £6.99, which meant I got a matching lip liner with this, that I also really love. They also sell these in a variety of colours on their own too.

Anyway, the liquid lip itself is amazing on it’s own. The formula is extremely liquidy, which means you have to be extremely careful when applying, but when they’re on and they dry down, they’re there to stay. They take about a minute to dry down, which is quite fast compared to some others I’ve tried.

When dry, it feels very lightweight on the lips but feels completely dry, there’s no tack or stick when you put your lips together at all.

Barry M, take a bow, these are amazing.

 

Last but not least, one of my absolute favourite liquid lipsticks of all time, Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick.

18051939_1521115514597011_1453381613_n

Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick in Celebrity Skin

This liquid lipstick has hype for a reason, especially this colour.

They are a little more pricey at £16, but they are completely worth it. When you apply it, there is a very strong distinct minty smell, which I love, but I know isn’t for everyone. It also feels very velvety and smooth upon application and has a very quick dry down time.

When you push your lips together, it feels very plush, despite being a lipstick that is fully matte, it makes your lips still feel very hydrated and smooths over lip lines to make the lips look very plump.

When dry, this lipstick doesn’t move. I’ve worn this lipstick to gigs, to meals, to work… it stays put through all of them, that’s what I want most from my liquid lipsticks!

Round of applause Jeffree, the hype is absolutely lived up to!

 

I know some of these may be different for everyone, some people love what I hate and some hate what I love, it’s all part of being a makeup lover!

What are your best and worst liquid lipsticks? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

C x (2)

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “LIQUID LIPSTICKS: Faves and Hates 

Leave a Reply

