Tried and Tested: DUPE? Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick vs Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit

As you may have seen in my last liquid lipstick faves and hates post, the Jeffree Star Velour liquid lipstick in Celebrity Skin and the Barry M Matte Me Up lip kit in Go To Nude are two of my absolute favourite liquid lipsticks that I’ve tried and are the two that I use daily.

When doing that post and swatching them side by side, I realised just how similar they really are. How I never realised this before is beyond me. When put on the lips side by side, the difference is undetectable.

Left side: Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick in ‘Celebrity Skin’ – Right side: Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit in ‘Go To Nude’

Left: Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kit in ‘Go To Nude’. Right side: Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick in ‘Celebrity Skin’.

I decided to wear these two liquid lipsticks throughout the day to see if the price difference is really worth it.

Check in 1 (after food): 


For the most part, these liquid lipsticks lasted through food (which was pretty greasy may I add, they handled it well). The top of the lip stayed on completely, however on the bottom lip, the inner rim on both of these faded during eating, which I feel is normal for any lipstick. However, the damage done was very minimal and both of them looked about the same afterwards.

Check in two (reapplication):


When I reapplied these lipsticks on top of themselves, they both went on very smoothly and didn’t cake or bunch up on the lips at all, which a lot of lipsticks tend to do.

The only noticeable difference between the two was that the Jeffree Star side felt a lot more plush when the lips were pushed together, whereas the Barry M felt a lot more dry, but not in a bad way. They both still felt very comfortable on the lips after reapplication and looked very smooth.

Check in 3 (end of the night):


I didn’t reapply again after initial reapplication and by the end of the night, even after eating and drinking, there was very minimal fading on both sides. In fact, they both wore exactly the same throughout the entire time I wore them. Like I said earlier on in the post, the only noticeable differences between these two lipsticks is the texture of them when you apply them and when they dry down.

The scent is also something I should note.  The Jeffree Star lipstick has a distinct minty smell, whereas the Barry M lipstick has no scent at all… which might be good for those of you who aren’t fond of scented products.

Overall, I’d say if you, like myself like the colour of celebrity skin and want a cheap alternative, snap up one of the lip kits while they’re still available! Or alternitavely, if you’ve managed to get hold of the Go To Nude lip kit and love the colour, the Jeffree Star one could be the one for you!

Dupe tested, dupe approved.

I got my lip kit on Superdrug’s website for £6.99 if they are still available or alternitavely on Barry M’s website. Be quick, they’re limited edition!

If you want to splurge and pay the £16, or liked the Barry M Lip kit and can’t get your hands on another, you can buy the Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick on Beauty Bay or on his website.

Hope this was helpful to those of you, who like me, are completely obsessed with lipsticks!

Until next time,

C x (2)

Leave a Reply

